Tan vows to win title with Koo despite stellar cast in Denmark  
Published on 18/10/2011     Source : Malaysia Star

National men’s doubles shuttler Tan Boon Heong plans to walk the talk when he competes in the Denmark Open in Odense tomorrow.

Many top stars were absent when Boon Heong and Koo Kien Keat emerged champions at the tournament in 2007 and 2009.

And the 25-year-old Boon Heong wants to prove that they have what it takes to win the Denmark Open title again even though a stellar cast has gathered for the Premier Super Series event.

Boon Heong, who last won a Super Series title with Kien Keat at the 2010 Malaysia Open in January, said he had had enough of talking.

“It is time for us to deliver the goods. I have spoken of our chances many times and many times we have fallen short. This time, I want to stay focused on winning first,” said Boon Heong.

National chief coach Tan Kim Her said he was happy with the positive attitude shown by Kien Keat-Boon Heong in training since arriving in Odense on Saturday.

“We were greeted by cold weather in Odense (between 5°C-10°C) but the players are showing good spirit. Koo is in jovial mood and Boon Heong is in good shape.

“We hope they will do well,” Kim Her said in a telephone interview yesterday.

All the top 10 pairs in the world have confirmed participation as required under the Badminton World Federation’s (BWF) new rule.

The Denmark Open, accorded the status of the premier event for the first time, is offering US$400,000 in total prize money.

Boon Heong-Kien Keat will begin their Denmark Open campaign against South Korea’s third pair of Cho Gun-woo-Kwon Yi-goo.

The others in their half are top seeds Cai Yun-Fu Haifeng, Guo Zhengdong-Chai Biao and Hong Wei-Shen Ye of China; reigning All-England champions Mathias Boe-Carsten Mogensen of Denmark; and Indonesians Alven Yulianto-Hendra Gunawan.

The top half of the draw comprises second seeds Yong-dae-Jae-sung and Sung-hyun-Yeon-seong of South Korea; Indonesians Markis Kido-Hendra Setiawan and Bona Septano-Mohd Ahsan; Denmark’s Mads Conrad-Petersen-Jonas Rasmussen; and KLRC’s Gan Teik Chai-Tan Bin Shen.

Teik Chai-Bin Shen will be looking to do well now that they have been training under former great Razif Sidek.

Besides Kien Keat-Boon Heong and Teik Chai-Bin Shen, Malaysia will also be represented by Goh Wei Shem-Lim Khim Wah, Chan Peng Soon-Ong Jian Guo, Mohd Zakry Abdul Latif-Mohd Fairuzizuan Mohd Tazari and Hoon Thien How-Tan Wee Kiong.

All the four pairs, however, will begin their campaign in the qualifying tournament today.



Share Favorite Print
Share this news in your social networks below :
Facebook Twitter Linkedin Delicious Stumbleupon
Digg Reddit Google MySpace Yahoo! Buzz
0 Comments so far
Leave a comment
Want to comment on this news?    Sign In  or  Sign Up now!
Login with Facebook         
Member Login
Login with Facebook
Remember me
Register      Forget Password?
Find us on Facebook